Framing Our W-2’s

ImageI’m thinking about framing our W-2’s from this year.

I know that may strike most of you as…well…strange.  But as soon as I opened them, I was immediately reminded of the tremendous love of our Father this year.  Here goes nothing.

Most of you know that 2013 marked our first full year “on support.”  David left the fire department at the end of 2013 to support raise full time (for 2 ministry jobs, may I add!) while I continued as a full time graduate student.  We were not allowed to withdraw any salary until we got close to 100% of our salary raised.  It took us 10 months, and we are still not at our true ‘100%.’  We planned for 5-6 months, worst-case scenario.

7 months in, I got a part-time job…but still have been getting paid less than I ever did (for the same job) prior to seminary.  It is not much – let’s put it this way: his W-2 from October – December was the same amount as mine from July – December.  We didn’t pull a paycheck for David’s work until October.

In addition to living expenses, we have been paying off my school tuition as we go so we don’t incur any debt from it.  And we have had some pretty momentous medical bills along the way.

You guys, our W-2’s were collectively $22,000.  I’m pretty sure we were, by America’s standards, below the poverty line.  I cannot believe that number.

Yet we never went without, in the truest sense of the word.  In fact, I would say we’ve lived abundantly.  We never stopped our charitable giving, even when we weren’t getting paid a cent.  We have treated to meals and gifts.  And minus one car repair that is still being paid off, we are out of debt.  I don’t say any of this to boast, except to boast in Our Heavenly Father who is true to His word.  We have been transformed by the idea of “seeking first the kingdom of God” and trusting Him for the rest.  I wouldn’t run my life any other way.  That was our aim, and He delivered abundantly.  By all Biblical standards, I would call it a miracle.

I know the details of all this aren’t important, but hopefully they illustrate the magnitude of the God we serve.  My prayer is that our testimony of this past year spurs YOU on to step out into the unknown.  To seek the opportunity that brings the fullness of joy in His presence.  I urge you, seek first the kingdom of God!  We have a long way to go to truly doing that in the fullest sense, but God has honored our small steps in that direction.  He takes the little courage and trust that we have (that He works in us!) and works miracles.  Taste the joy that is waiting for you in His presence, seeing Him work modern day miracles.

Leave a Reply

